Herodotus check-in

Folks,

Tonight is the first Herodotus check-in call. We’ll record it. Transcript will be posted after the call.          

  • Mon, July 18, 8pm ET
  • 1-641-297-5400  (St. Marys, IA)
  • Participant Access Code:  73511#

Thanks,Phil

P.S. See the helpful comments below

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Herodotus check-in

  1. July 18, 2005 at 07:02 PM says:

    <p>I know we are reading Herodotus now but I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed reading the Odyssey. I felt that much of the book was truely inspired. </p><p>I would underline passages along the way and marvel that they were written approx 900 years B.C.E.,but as I got closer to the end it almost felt like I was reading a book by a different author. I noticed that other people on the conference call were also bothered by the double standards. I was especially upset by the way the female servants were killed in the end, for having slept with the suiters. I felt that something was not complete, so I went back and reread the introduction by Sheila Murnaghan and she notes on page lvii that scholars know as "analysts" have a theory that the Odyssey was actually created by the joining together<br>of 3 different poems. </p><p>She also notes on page lix , that the Homeric epics "describe a world that does not correlate to any one period but combine elements of the Bronze Age with elements of the Dark Age:" This seemed to put the pieces of the puzzle together for me. But the best thing for me was getting the poem that Nancy Kopans sent by Constantine Cavafy. It made everything complete for me especially these lines </p><p>Hope the journey may be long.<br>May there be many a summer morning<br>when with what pleasure, what joy,<br>you enter harbors you’re seeing for the first time;<br>may you stop at Phoenician trading stations<br>to buy fine things,<br>mother of pearl and coral, amber and ebony,<br>sensual perfume of every kind—<br>as many sensual perfumes as you can;<br>and may you visit many Egyptian cities<br>to learn, and go on learning from their scholars.</p><p>Keep Ithaka always in your mind.<br><br>I then realized that its irrelevant how many authors or over what time period it took to write the book, that what is most important is the journey. Please thank Nancy for me.<br><br>- Robert</p>

Leave a Reply

